The SOC Group in the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe has unanimously chosen Liliane Maury Pasquier to be its next President.

The work accomplished by Liliane Maury Pasquier within the PACE and her dedication to the defence of democracy and human rights was and is recognised by all members of the SOC Group. The Group is convinced that she will chair the Group in the same spirit as her predecessors and continue to struggle for a democratic, credible and fair Parliamentary Assembly. Besides, she will be the first woman President of the SOC Group in PACE.

Her mandate will begin in January 2018, when Michele Nicoletti, current President of the SOC Group and candidate of the Group for the Presidency of the Assembly, should, in accordance with the agreement concluded by the political groups, become the next President of the Assembly of the Council of Europe.