The SOC Group in the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe has unanimously chosen Frank Schwabe to be its next President.

Frank Schwabe has been fighting to restore the accountability and the credibility of the PACE for the last 1 1/2 years and was part of the group of delegates that pushed for the establishment of the Independent External Investigation Body. This and his overall strong dedication to the defence of human rights was and is recognised by all members of the SOC Group. The Group is convinced that he will chair the Group in the same spirit as his predecessors and continue to struggle for a democratic, credible and fair Parliamentary Assembly.

His mandate will begin in June 2018, once Liliane Maury Pasquier, current President of the SOC Group and candidate of the Group for the Presidency of the Assembly, should, in accordance with the agreement concluded by the political groups, become the next President of the Assembly of the Council of Europe.