The Socialists, Democrats and Greens’ Group of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe wish to share an important information concerning the Presidency of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe (PACE).

During the next meeting of the Group within the upcoming April part-session, the Group will organise a vote in order to appoint its next candidate to the PACE Presidency. This comes as a consequence to the unfortunate non-reelection of our comrade and current PACE President Michele Nicoletti to the Italian national elections on the 4th March 2018.
The members of the SOC Group will have to choose between the two following candidates presented in an alphabetical order:

– Antonio Gutierrez Limones from Spain and
– Liliane Maury Pasquier from Switzerland and current Chair of the SOC Group.

According to Michele Nicoletti’s decision, and in agreement with the SOC Group, he will resign from his function of PACE President before the beginning of the June part-session, in order to allow the SOC candidate to the Presidency to be elected on the Monday of the June part-session. This aims to assure the continuity of the SOC Presidency for PACE.

In order to respect the political agreement pertaining the rotation of the political groups to the Presidency of PACE, all PACE members are invited to support the candidate nominated by the SOC Group.